top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbigail Kay Harris

My (New) Rating System


It's a long time coming... My own rating system! I've used a few in the past, just gave the rating I thought worked best, tried different things. But I was never really happy with any of what I used so I took an evening and wrote out a list of things that are important to me in rating a book and I got my system nailed down.


A big reason I want a system is to keep ratings fair. I mean, it's easy to just throw a good rating but is it always the best choice to just give a five-star rating when you have some issues with a book? Nope. So, my rating system is finally here!


In all the point system can add up to 100 points.

  • Cover: 1-10

  • Content: 1-10

  • Book Info: 1-10

  • Recommendation: 1-10

  • Characters: 1-10

  • Faith: 1-10

  • Plot: 1-10

  • Writing Style: 1-10

  • Originality: 1-20


Now, to clear up a bit on the reasons I chose everything I did... I find that it is annoying if a book's info and cover don't match the story, and of course there's the fact that inappropriate content or content used as a shock factor can take away from my enjoyment of a book, characters, faith elements and the faith beliefs play a huge part in the rating of a Christian book, plot, writing style, and characters are another important part of a story and even one well done or badly done will make or break a novel. Now, for originality to be double the points of all of the other things taken into account for a story are important but there have been many times that books are too alike so I find it's fine to have originality as twice the possible points as the other subjects.


The points are broken up into four for each subject so to say.

  • 0-3 points means that the book was bad.

  • 4-6 points mean that the book was okay.

  • 7-10 points means the book was a win

  • 10-20 is only for originality


Now for the actual points getting rounded up in a rating there are four categories.

  • 30 points equals 1-2 stars

  • 45-49 points equals 3 stars

  • 50-63 points equals 4 stars

  • 64-100 points equals 5 stars

Now, that's all actually pretty simple once I have it all written out.


What do you think? Is this a fair rating system?


See ya later, booknerds!

Abigail

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page